Course Details:

The Exam is divided into three exam stages: (i) Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective Type) for the selection of candidates for the Mains Exam.
(ii) Civil Services Mains Examination (Written) for the selection of candidates for the next level of the UPSC IAS Exam.
(iii) Civil Services Personality Test (PT)- The final stage for the selection process.

The syllabus for all three stages of the exam is interlinked and hence needs a deeper look to understand the requirement of each stage of the IAS Exam. You can check the detailed exam pattern on the link provided below:

In IAS Prelims, UPSC tests the analytical, logical, and reasoning ability of the candidates. The IAS Prelims Exam is divided into two parts:
(i) General Studies Paper-I
(ii) General Studies Paper-II
Both papers have a maximum time limit of two hours and the General Studies Paper-II, which is popularly known as CSAT, is only qualifying in nature. The exam is conducted on a single day with Paper 1 in the morning session and paper 2 in the evening session.

UPSC IAS Syllabus Prelims Exam : GS Paper I
Marks: 200 Duration: 2 hours

- Ancient History of India
- Medieval History of India
- Modern History 1857 to 1947
- Indian National Movement

Geography of India and
Concept of Physical Geography
Physical Geography
Human Geography
Economic Geography
World Geography

3 Polity
Indian Polity and Governance issues
Union Executives
State Executives
Federalism in India
Judicial System
Panchayati Raj

4 Economy
Indian Economy and Social Development
Basic Principles of Indian Economy
Social Schemes of Government
Social Development through Economic Empowerment
Sustainable Development

5 Environment and Ecology
Principles of Environment and Ecology
General Principles
Climate Change and
Climate Summits and Conferences

6 General Science
Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Technology
General Principles
Latest Science and Technological Development

7 Current Events
It covers all the events of National and International Importance